CRL - Community Rail Lancashire

The Leeds – Morecambe CRP AGM

The Leeds – Morecambe Community Rail Partnership Co. Ltd. held its Annual General Meeting on Wednesday 10th July 2019.

The meeting was held in Bentham Town Hall with fifteen members present. Gerald Townson, Chair of the CRP, welcomed everyone to the meeting and showed a short video to reflect the activities of the partnership over the last twelve months.

Gerald also presented his Annual report and this can be downloaded on this link; LMCRP Chairman’s Report Summer 2019.

The meeting then turned to business and the notes from the 2018 meeting were accepted as a true and accurate record. CRP Treasurer David Alder then presented the draft accounts and these were accepted and will be ratified once the company accountants have examined them.

It was also agreed that the CRP should continue to use Howarths as their accountants and the Co-operative Bank as their bankers.

The continuing membership of the CRP and the Board was discussed and this was agreed.

The meeting then went on to appoint the officers for the next year and the results were as follows:

Chair – Gerald Townson (Friends of Bentham Station)

Vice Chair – Rod Tickner (Aire Valley Rail User Group)

Secretary – Simon Clarke (Community Rail Lancashire)

Treasurer – David Alder (Lancaster & Skipton Rail user Group)

Following the nominations and election of officers Gerald went on to thank everyone for their input and help over the last twelve months (see also page 6 of the Chair’s Report).

The Leeds – Morecambe (The Bentham Line) CRP is a member of the Association of Community Rail Partnerships (ACoRP) and is actively seeking Accreditation as proposed in section 2.18 of the Government’s new Community Rail Development Strategy.