CRL - Community Rail Lancashire

Friends of Stations

Friends of Stations or Station Adoption is described by the Community Rail Network as ‘the involvement of two or more individuals or organisations from outside the railway industry in the care of a station’. 


Community Rail Lancashire (CRL), Northern Trains (Northern) and the Community Rail Network all promote and support the adoption of railway stations by Friends groups. Station Adoption and the Friends Groups across the CRL area are managed by Northern Railways and to check if your local station is adopted or already has a Friends group you can find out by contacting one of Northern Railway’s Community & Sustainability Managers, Martin Keating ( or Simon Abbott (

Northern has a Station Adoption Fund that is available to registered groups and details can be found here and it is worth considering becoming a member of the Community Rail Network, which is £25 + VAT per year but gives you access to a Small Grants Fund. Details of membership can be found here

Community Rail Lancashire has a page dedicated to station adoption and this can be viewed by clicking on this link: Station Adoption. Below are the stations that CRL are aware of that have active Friends Groups by route.

Clitheroe Line

Entwistle – Ribble Valley Rail
Darwen – Ribble Valley Rail
Ramsgreave & Wilpshire – Ribble Valley Rail
Langho – Ribble Valley Rail
Whalley – Ribble Valley Rail
Clitheroe – Ribble Valley Rail

East Lancashire Line

Lostock Hall – Friends of Lostock Hall Station
Bamber Bridge – South Ribble Pensioners Association
Cherry Tree – St. Francis ScoutsMill Hill – Friends of Mill Hill Station
Blackburn – Blackburn BID
Rishton – Rishton Prospects
Church & Oswaldtwistle – Church & Oswaldtwistle Rotary Club
Accrington – Prospects Foundation
Huncoat – Hands on Huncoat
Brierfield – Friends of Pendle Stations
Nelson – Friends of Pendle Stations
Colne – Colne in Bloom

South Fylde Line

Salwick – Friends of Salwick Station
Kirkham & Wesham – Grow Kirkham & Wesham
Moss Side – Friends of Moss Side Station
Lytham – Friends of Lytham Railway Station
Ansdell & Fairhaven – Friends of Ansdell & Fairhaven Station
St. Anne’s-on-the-Sea – Friends of St. Anne’s Station
Squires Gate – Friends of Squires Gate Station
Blackpool Pleasure Beach – UR Potential

Preston to Ormskirk Line

Croston – Friends of Croston Station
Rufford – Rufford Village Society
Burscough Junction – Friends of Burscough Stations

Wigan to Southport Line

Parbold – Friends of Parbold Station
Hoscar – Friends of Hoscar Station
Burscough Bridge – Friends of Burscough Stations
New Lane – Friends of Burscough Stations
Bescar Lane – Friends of Bescar Lane Station
Meols Cop – Friends of Meols Cop Station


Want more information? email us on or